GUEST EDITORIAL

IADR General Session & Exhibition, Prosthodontics Group June 19–22, 2019 Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada This year's 97th General Session & Exhibition of the Interna Association for Dental Research (IADR) in Vancouver was once as

his year's 97th General Session & Exhibition of the International Association for Dental Research (IADR) in Vancouver was once again a highlight for reporting dental research. Numerous participants from all over the globe attended the conference, covering a huge variety of topics related to dental research, going from basic to translational to clinical research.

The Prosthodontics Group (one of the 46 scientific groups) accepted 151 abstracts and organized 5 oral sessions, 6 poster sessions, 3 Lunch & Learning sessions, and 3 symposia. What makes the IADR meetings so interesting and exciting is the fact that only original research is reported. This makes it a unique forum for early career researchers to present their work. It is the Prosthodontics Group's mission to support these talented colleagues and to help them develop and excel. The Prosthodontics Group therefore awards the following three grants.



Fig 1 (*left*) Arthur R. Frechette Awards (*left* to right): Dr Stephen F. Rosenstiel (Frechette Coordinator, IADR Prosthodontics Group), Dr Yumi Ohori (award recipient), Dr Hitesh Chopra (award finalist), Dr Sabrina Maniewicz (award recipient), Dr Caroline Dini (award finalist), Dr Adaias Matos (award finalist), Dr Atsuko Tagami (award finalist), and Dr Matthias Kern (President, IADR Prosthodontics Group).

Fig 2 (*right*) Judges of the 2019 Frechette Awards (*left to right*): Dr David Bartlett, Dr Keiichi Sasaki, Mr Allen Steinbock (CEO and President, Whip Mix Corporation), Dr Stephen F. Rosenstiel (Frechette Coordinator), and Dr Edmond Pow. Judges not pictured were Drs Joke Duyck, Asbjørn Jokstad, and J. Robert Kelly.



The Arthur R. Frechette Research Awards in Prosthodontics honor the memory of Arthur R. Frechette, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 to 1977. The Frechette Awards are comprised of two awards: one for research undertaken with a materials science– or bioengineering-oriented protocol, and the other for research undertaken with a biologic sciences– and tissue-engineering–oriented protocol. Researchers carrying out original research are eligible for a Frechette Award if they have been the primary author of no more than three articles published in refereed dental journals. The awards are sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and supported by the Whip Mix Corporation. For each award, three finalists are selected based on the originality and scientific design of their investigation, suitability of the methods of analysis, and scientific value of the work. Those six finalists are invited to present their work at an oral session at the IADR meeting. All finalists receive a plaque, and both winners receive a cash prize of \$1,000.

doi: 10.11607/ijp.2019.5.e



Fig 3 Pre-Prosthetic Regenerative Science Awards for Young Investigators (*left to right*): Dr Matthias Kern (President, IADR Prosthodontics Group), Dr Shengbin Huang (award recipient), and Dr Keiichi Sasaki (award coordinator). The other award recipient, not pictured, was Dr Naoko Sato.

This year's winners were Dr Yumi Ohori, Tohoku University Graduate School of Dentistry, Sendai, Japan, for "3D Culture to Maintain and Restore Mesenchymal Stem Cell Multipotency," and Dr Sabrina Maniewicz, University of Geneva, Switzerland, for "In-vitro Retention Changes of Novel Implant Overdenture Attachments." Prosthodontics Group Pre-Prosthetic The IADR Regenerative Science Award for Young Investigators (PPRS) recognizes original research by new investigators in the multidisciplinary field of pre-prosthetic or prosthodontics-related regenerative science, including but not limited to tissue engineering; bone, tooth, and soft-tissue regenerative sciences; graft materials research; maxillofacial reconstructive biology and physiology; and implant biologic research. The awards are co-sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group and the Japan Prosthodontic Society. The eight finalists receive a plague, and the winners receive checks for \$1,000 (1st place) and \$500 (2nd place). Finalists for the award were selected from the abstracts accepted for the General Session and were requested to submit a 5-page extended abstract, which was judged for originality and scientific design and merit of the research. This year's PPRS awards were won by Dr Shengbin Huang, Wenzhou Medical University, Wenzhou, PR China (1st place), for the research "AKT-Hsp90-CypD Axis Contribute to Preodontoblast Apoptosis Induced by TEGDMA," and Dr Naoko Sato, Tohoku University Hospital, Sendai, Japan (2nd place), for "Effect of Virtual Surgical Planning on Mandibular Reconstruction With Free Fibula Flap."

The Neal Garrett Clinical Research Prize award recognizes clinically focused and patient-centered original research. This award recognizes the lifetime work of Neal Garrett and matches his efforts in patient care and is supported by Dr Sreenivas Koka and Premium



Fig 4 Neal Garrett Clinical Research Prize *(left to right)*: Dr Matthias Kern (President, IADR Prosthodontics Group), Dr Samir Abou-Ayash (award winner), Dr Chie Watanabe (award winner), and Dr David Bartlett (award coordinator).

Dental Editing. The 2019 award was shared between Dr Samir Abou-Ayash, ZMK Bern, Switzerland, for his research "5-Year Retention Forces of One-piece Mini Dental Implant-retained Mandibular Overdentures," and Dr Chie Watanabe, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Tokyo, Japan, for her research "The Effect of Removable Partial Denture Placement for Diabetic Patients." The judging for this award was based on the scientific merit of the submitted studies, which were presented as extended abstracts.

The quality of the 2019 award finalists and winners was extraordinary. On behalf of the Prosthodontics Group, I wish to thank and congratulate them and express my hope that the awards will motivate them to push the scientific research level even higher.

Joke Duyck, DDS, PhD

President-Elect of the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR



Joke Duyck is a full professor at the Department of Oral Health Sciences at the Catholic University of Leuven (KU Leuven), Belgium. She graduated as a dentist in 1995 (KU Leuven) and acquired her Specialist Degree in Prosthodontics and a PhD in Medical Sciences in 2000 (KU Leuven). She studied peri-implant bone mechanobiology, but now focuses her research on gerodontology and policy supporting research aiming to optimize oral health for care-dependent persons. Joke Duyck is president-elect of the Prosthodontics Group of the IADR and

associate editor of the *International Journal of Oral & Maxillofacial Implants*. Her clinical activities are situated in the fields of prosthodontics, maxillofacial prosthodontics, and gerodontology.