## Editorial

## Annual Award for Clinical Research in Periodontology



Dr Sebastian G. Ciancio accepts the 1996 Annual Award for Clinical Research on behalf of his colleagues, Drs Hans S. Preus, Jørgen Lassen, and Anne M. Aass.

The 1996 Annual Award for Clinical Research in Periodontology was presented to Drs Hans S. Preus, Jørgen Lassen, Anne M. Aass, and Sebastian G. Ciancio at the Annual Session of the American Academy of Periodontology in New Orleans on October 9, 1996. Their study, "Bacterial resistance following subgingival and systemic administration of minocycline" was published in the May 1995 issue of the Journal of Clinical Periodontology.

A single cash award is provided annually for an outstanding paper having direct clinical relevance and application published in a refereed journal. The entries are judged by the Research Committee of the American Academy of Periodontology. The award is supported by Quintessence Publishing Company, Inc, publisher of *The International Journal of Periodontics and Restorative Dentistry*.

The authors of this winning study compared the total numbers of cultivable bacteria and the prevalence of resistance to minocycline among periodontal bacteria following subgingival or systemic application of minocycline in patients suffering from periodontal disease. The results suggested that the subgingival application of minocycline seemed no more likely to select for an increased proportion of resistant organisms in the periodontal pockets than the systemic administration of minocycline.